Paul and Judy Massad Scholarship

The 2016 Paul and Judy Kaye Massad Scholarship recipient is Katy Armstrong.

Paul Massad is a valued friend to generations of OU alumni.  A native of Lawton, Paul began his remarkable career at OU while still a student, working in the Extension Division (now OU Outreach).  He went on to serve as a public information assistant and then business manager for OU’s radio station at the time, WNAD.  In 1966, Paul was named director of High School and College Relations – now Recruitment Services.  He served as director of development from 1979 to 1982, when his responsibilities were expanded to include alumni activities.  As executive director of Alumni Affairs and Development, he served as the chief executive of OU’s Alumni Association and was responsible for helping raise major gifts.  In 1990, Paul was promoted to associate vice president for University Affairs and executive director of Alumni Affairs. After the successful conclusion of OU’s Reach for Excellence Campaign, which ultimately raised $514 million in private gifts, Paul was promoted once again to senior associate vice president for Development and director of major gifts, with a focus on planned giving.  In June 2007, he was named acting vice president for University Development and in October 2007 was appointed vice president.  He now holds the distinguished title of Vice President Emeritus.

Called “one of the university’s greatest assets” by OU President David Boren, Paul is the recipient of OU’s Distinguished Achievement Award and serves as vice chairman of the Oklahoma Heritage Association.  He and his wife, Judy Kaye, live in Norman.

The OU Club of Dallas is excited to introduce you to Katy:

Name - Katy Armstrong

High School: Billy Ryan High School

OU Major: International Business & Marketing

After Graduation I Plan toI hope to work in marketing research for a global company.

I chose to Attend OU Because I felt that that was where I was supposed to be planted. From the moment I stepped on campus, I felt at home and could visualize me achieving all my goals on this campus.

Past Winners

        2015: Rebecca Mighell

        2014: John Robertson

        2013: David Gumbert

        2012: Nathan Drew

        2011: Katelyn Burks
        2010: Simone McGill 
        2009: Elise Heyerdahl 
        2008: Ellen Pouttu
        2007: Kendall Baginski
        2006: Jason Whitaker